The Journey begins with a lazy day

I have started my “re-training” today.   I started reading one of the stacks of books I got from half-price. The one I started today is Word Painting : A Guide to Writing More Descriptively by Rebecca McClanahan.   I thought this would be a good place to start. It can also be a benefit to my GMing as well.

I don’t have much of a topic for today. So I will fall to my default of the daily writing prompt.

What is your favorite way to spend a lazy day?

I do not get many lazy days, at least not like when I was younger. In those rare times when my never ending list of chores , projects and game prep have ended, I try and take advantage of the free time. It normally starts the night before when the daily alarm is turned off so as to not shock me awake with its incessant buzzing. I usually am able to sleep in to the insanely late time of 8:30am, I know I’m a rebel. Then I will normally lay there in the quiet for a few minutes, listening to my wife’s restful breathing, the bird singing its annoying song just outside my window. When the serenade becomes too much I get up and make my way downstairs.   The day can go one of two ways from here. I can either decide I am going to lose myself in some time sucking game like Civ 4 or 5 or The Sims or even firing up one of my old RPGs that fill my steam library . Then spend the next 8 hours playing thinking that it has only been about a hour or so before looking up and seeing that it is late afternoon. A second option is to get my coffee brewed and grab what ever current book or rpg manual I have in my stack of books that need to be read. I will curl up on the recliner and read while sipping some coffee.

I primarily just enjoy the day without any set plans.   Letting all my stress and worries drift away. To be honest it should happen more often. In fact, I am off to figure out when my next one will happen.

Leave a Reply

